PICS: Dirty Heads, Iration at Mattress Firm Amphitheatre

Dirty Heads and Iration had a packed Mattress Firm Amphitheatre a-rockin' on Friday, May 18.

17 photos
The band originally hails from right up the road in Huntington Beach, California.
Fatima Kelley
Dirty Heads got their start in 2006 by Jared "Dirty J" Watson and vocalist/guitarist Dustin "Duddy B" Bushnell (pictured), after the two met at a party.
Fatima Kelley
After hearing one of Bushnell's rap demo tapes, Watson (pictured) became inspired to collaborate with him on a project.
Fatima Kelley
The band's name stems from their older brothers and family members calling them "dirty heads" when they were younger.
Fatima Kelley
The group now also counts Jon Olazabal (percussion), David Foral (bass), Matt Ochoa (drums) and Shawn Hagood (keyboards) as members.
Fatima Kelley
Dirty Heads' debut album "Any Port in a Storm" was released in 2008. It features Beatles collaborator Billy Preston on multiple tracks -- in what would be one of the final sessions he recorded before his death. (Olazabal pictured)
"Lay Me Down" was released as a single from the album and it peaked at No. 1 on the Billboard Alternative Songs chart. The song also features Rome Ramirez as a guest vocalist/guitarist. It remained at No. 1 for more than 10 weeks!
Fatima Kelley
The group released its sophomore album "Cabin by the Sea" on June 19, 2012 -- it featured Del the Funky Homosapien on the song "Smoke Rings" and Rome Ramirez again on the song "Mongo Push."
In 2013, Dirty Heads released an 11-track acoustic album titled "Home - Phantoms of Summer."
Fatima Kelley
Their 2014 album "My Sweet Summer" reached No. 2 on the Top Rock Albums chart, as well as No. 8 on the Billboard 200.
Fatima Kelley
After releasing a self-titled album on July 15, 2016, they followed that with their sixth studio album "Swim Team" in October of 2017. That album features the Unlikely Candidates on the song "Celebrate" and 311's Nick Hexum on "So Glad You Made It."
Fatima Kelley
Iration, always a San Diego favorite, opened up the show with positive reggae-rock vibes.
Fatima Kelley
Originally formed in 2004 in Isla Vista, California, the band started out playing mostly reggae covers.
Fatima Kelley
The group is currently comprised of Cayson Peterson (keyboards), Joseph Dickens (drums), Adam Taylor (bass), Micah Pueschel (guitar/vocals), Micah Brown (lead guitar/vocals, pictured) and Drake Peterson (percussion, trumpet).
Fatima Kelley
They released their debut EP, "New Roots," in 2006, and, after building a solid fan-base through steady touring, they embarked on their first national tour in 2008 with Pepper. With the release of Iration's sophomore album, 2010's "Time Bomb," the band topped the Billboard Reggae Albums chart -- which is no easy feat!
Fatima Kelley
"Automatic," released in 2014, garnered worldwide acclaim; August of 2016 saw the release of "Hotting Up"; and the group dropped their latest album "Double Up" on Dec. 2, 2016.
Fatima Kelley
The group has been on a roll, especially in San Diego -- where they're festival favorites. So much in fact that the Del Mar Racetrack just announced that they'll be performing on July 21!
Contact Us