San Diego

Decision 2018: Results in the San Diego City Council Races

Two incumbent San Diego City Council members appear to have been unseated during the 2018 Midterm Elections, early polling numbers suggest. 

It's been nearly three decades since a city council incumbent lost an election in the city of San Diego.

Council members Lorie Zapf and Myrtle Cole, both Republicans, who represent Districts 2 and 4 respectively, will likely be unseated by their Democratic opponents, according to election results released Wednesday.

Challengers Jennifer Campbell and Monica Montgomery appear headed to take over the seats of the two incumbents. 

If both districts flip into Democratic control, what is currently a mostly nonpartisan 5-4 city council could become immune to Mayor Kevin Faulconer's veto power. 

"Even though the city council is supposed to be non-partisan, that's just not reality," said former councilmember Donna Frye. "The Democrats have their point of view, the Republicans have their point of view."

Frye believes a "veto-proof" super majority will move the needle to the left in San Diego possibly bringing more attention and resources to issues like affordable housing and homelessness.

"If the six Democrats vote together as a block, they will be able to pretty much put in place the budget they want and the mayor will not be able to veto it or to change that," Frye said.

The most noticeable changes trickling down from city hall to city streets may come during next year's budget discussions.

District 2 represents several beachside communities as well as Midway, Morena, Bay Park and Bay Ho.

District 4 represents the central San Diego neighborhoods of Oak Park, Encanto, Paradise Hills and the surrounding areas

Contact Us