2021 WNBA Playoffs: How to Watch, Format, Standings

Here's everything you need to know about the upcoming WNBA playoffs

2021 WNBA playoffs: How to watch, format, standings originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

It's mid-September, so you know what that means: the WNBA playoffs are just around the corner.

Seven teams have already clinched playoff berths, with three other clubs still in contention for the coveted No. 8 seed entering the final day of the regular season. The Washington Mystics (12-19) currently hold that final spot, owning the tiebreaker over the Los Angeles Sparks.

The Mystics have to beat the Minnesota Lynx on Sunday to secure the eighth seed. If the Mystics lose and the L.A. Sparks beat the Dallas Wings, Los Angeles gets the No. 8 seed. Should both the Mystics and Sparks lose, then the New York Liberty (12-20) would advance to the postseason thanks to having the three-way tiebreaker over Washington and L.A.

Here's everything you need to know about the 2021 WNBA playoffs.

When are the 2021 WNBA Playoffs?

The 2021 WNBA playoffs begin on Thursday, Sept. 23. The last day of the 2021 regular season is on Sunday, Sept. 19.

How do the WNBA Playoffs work?

The eight teams with the best record, regardless of conference, advance to the WNBA playoffs. Regular season records will determine those seeds.

The top two seeds earn a double-bye to the semifinal round, while the No. 3 and No. 4 seeds earn byes into the second round. Seed Nos. 5-8 will partake in a one-game playoff as to which team advances into the second round.

The first and second rounds of the WNBA playoffs are single-elimination, but the semifinal round and WNBA Finals are each a best-of-five series. 

How can I watch the 2021 WNBA Playoffs?

All 19 WNBA playoff games will be broadcast on either ESPN or ESPN2. You can stream every game at ESPN.com or the ESPN app.

What are the current WNBA standings?

  1. Connecticut Sun (25-6)
  2. Las Vegas Aces (23-8)
  3. Minnesota Lynx (21-10)
  4. Seattle Storm (21-11)
  5. Phoenix Mercury (19-12)
  6. Chicago Sky (15-16)
  7. Dallas Wings (13-18)
  8. Washington Mystics (12-19)
  9. Los Angeles Sparks (12-19)
  10. New York Liberty (12-20)
  11. Atlanta Dream (8-23)
  12. Indiana Fever (6-25)
Copyright RSN
Contact Us