Australia Gets 5th Leader in 8 Years - NBC 7 San Diego
National & International News
The day’s top national and international news

Australia Gets 5th Leader in 8 Years



    Australia Gets 5th Leader in 8 Years
    Malcolm Turnbull comments after an Australian Liberal Party meeting where he has been elected at the new party leader at Parliament House in Canberra, Monday, Sept. 14, 2015. Turnbull will replace Tony Abbott as Australian Prime Minister.

    Australia will get its fifth prime minister in eight years after the ruling Liberal Party on Monday voted out Tony Abbott following months of speculation and lagging support from voters, Reuters reported. 

    Malcolm Turnbull, a multi-millionaire former banker and tech entrepreneur and longtime Abbott rival, won a secret party room vote by 54 to 44, Liberal Party whip Scott Buchholz told reporters after the meeting in Canberra.

    Foreign Minister Julie Bishop was elected deputy leader of the party which, with junior coalition partner the National Party, won a landslide election in 2013.

    Since then, the popularity of the government and Abbott in particular has suffered from a series of perceived policy missteps, destabilizing infighting and leaks.