2 Trustees in Sweetwater Scandal Not Re-Elected

Bertha Lopez and Jim Cartmill were not re-elected to the school board

Voters in the South Bay did not re-elect two of the Sweetwater school board trustees who accepted a plea deal in connection with a pay-to-play scheme.

Arturo Solis, Kevin Pike, Frank Tarantino, Nick Segua and Paula Hall secured seats on the Sweetwater Union High School Board.

Bertha Lopez and Jim Cartmill, who were among multiple school administrators and contractors indicted in December 2012, were not re-elected.

When Lopez was sentenced earlier this year, she received three years of probation as well as community service and a fine.

Lopez told NBC 7 late Tuesday that she was the one who brought the scandal to light. She feels she has always served her community and no one can take that away from her.

A judge sentenced Cartmill to three years of probation, a $4,589 fine and 40 hours of community service for his guilty plea to a misdemeanor charge for accepting gifts above the legal limit.

The Sweetwater District serves residents of Bonita, Chula Vista, Eastlake, Imperial Beach, National City, Otay Mesa, San Ysidro and South San Diego.

Contact Us