5 Rural Fire Agencies to Merge - NBC 7 San Diego

5 Rural Fire Agencies to Merge



    5 Rural Fire Agencies to Merge
    Getty Images

    Five rural fire agencies in San Diego County will merge to help improve response times.

    The county's board of supervisors voted to add Mount Laguna, Palomar Mountain, Boulevard, Campo and San Pasqual to the zone that's covered by county fire authorities.

    The five fire agencies cover more than 90 square miles.

    The employees will not be paid by the county, according to our media partners the North County Times. Officials have said the county can't afford to add firefighters across the county to its payroll.

    Currently, communities in the eastern county are served by volunteers.