It's Travel Time for Never Shout Never - NBC 7 San Diego

Saturdays after SNL
on NBC 7 San Diego
music. community. culture.

It's Travel Time for Never Shout Never



    Never Shout Never, an indie pop-rock band that is best known for frontman Christofer Drew's perfectly dishevelled hair and cutesy emo ballads that have attracted legions of underage girls -- has shed their image with their latest record, Time Travel, swapping sappy ballads for more matured lyricism and multitrack vocals, and a full-band sound. 

    Whatever musical direction Drew takes, he's got 2.7 million Facebook fans who are willing to follow his lead. His debut took place began during the MySpace era -- when side-swept bangs and falsetto reigned, artists like Drew were in demand. After two major releases on Warner as Drew's one-man-band solo effort -- working with producers like Butch Walker and Butch Vig -- this is the first release of a full band that includes Caleb Denison (drums, guitars, vocals), Taylor MacFee (bass, vocals), and Hayden Kaieser (guitar, vocals). The band decided to produce Time Travel themselves to create a sound that is more fully their own. 

    The musical expansion has allowed their sound to grow beyond the soft acoustic pop that Drew had perfected in past releases. Time Travel has a stadium-sound quality, with synthesizers, electric guitar, pulsing percussion and layers of hearty instrumentation. 

    For those who are still adjusting to the new sound, rest assured, Drew will include a 25-minute acoustic set sandwiched between two sets with his full band, so you can still get a little alone time with the perfectly-coifed frontman. You can grab your tickets for Never Shout Never at Soma, where they will appear on Oct. 2 with A Rocket to the Moon, Fake Problems and Carter Hulsey. 

    Getty Images

    Nada Alic runs the San Diego-based music blog Friends With Both Arms.Follow her updates on Twitter or contact her directly.