The 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards - NBC 7 San Diego

Saturdays after SNL
on NBC 7 San Diego
music. community. culture.

The 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards

The 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards are set to invade Los Angeles on May 1



    Move over Grammys, there’s a new music awards show in town: The 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards are set to invade the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on May 1.

    The first-ever iHeartRadio Music Awards will air live on NBC at 8 p.m. PST, and feature 10 different award categories across a diverse range of musical genres. The show also has some of the biggest superstars lined up to perform: Drake, Pharrell, Blake Shelton, Kendrick Lamar, Pitbull, Shakira, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Ariana Grande, Luke Bryan, Arcade Fire and Ed Sheeran.


    If that list of performers weren't enough to make any music fan weak in the knees, NBC 7 San Diego is giving away two tickets and VIP treatment to the awards, with a two-night hotel stay in Los Angeles and round-trip transportation. Enter to win here!

    Stars who are also set to make appearances at the ceremony include Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Steven Tyler, Imagine Dragons, Chris Martin, Lorde, Demi Lovato and more -- so the night is sure to be unforgettable.

    Founded in 2008, iHeartRadio is Clear Channel Broadcasting’s internet radio platform that offers up to 800 live radio stations available to stream online. With a worldwide reach of over 240 million people each month, it only made sense for them to hand out awards to artists whose music resonates with listeners the most -- that’s right, each category at the awards show are voted on by fans themselves.

    After the initial round of voting (and over 13 million votes), in which listeners narrowed down each category to five finalists, the awards are sure to go to some very deserving artists. Fans are in control again during the last round: Vote here for your favorite finalist, now through April 25!

    The categories are:

    Song of the Year
    "Stay" Rihanna feat. Mikky Ekko
    "Mirrors" Justin Timberlake
    "The Monster" Eminem feat. Rihanna
    "Hold On We're Going Home" Drake feat. Majid Jordan
    "Radioactive" Imagine Dragons

    Artist of the Year
    Justin Timberlake
    Imagine Dragons
    Maroon 5
    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

    Best New Artist
    Icona Pop
    Imagine Dragons
    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
    Florida Georgia Line

    Best Fan Army
    Rihanna Navy
    Little Monsters

    Best Collaboration
    "Timber" Pitbull feat. Ke$ha
    "Stay" Rihanna feat. Mikky Ekko
    "Suit & Tie" Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z
    "The Monster" Eminem feat. Rihanna
    "Holy Grail" Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake

    Country Song of the Year
    "Highway Don't Care" Tim McGraw feat. Taylor Swift
    "Boys 'Round Here" Blake Shelton
    "That's My Kind of Night" Luke Bryan
    "Mine Would Be You" Blake Shelton
    "It Goes Like This" Thomas Rhett

    Hip-Hop/R&B Song of the Year
    "Pour It Up" Rihanna
    "Holy Grail" Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake
    "Hold On We're Going Home" Drake feat. Majid Jordan
    "Blurred Lines" Robin Thicke feat. T.I. & Pharrell
    "Started From The Bottom" Drake

    EDM Song of the Year
    "Wake Me Up" Avicii
    "Get Lucky" Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
    "Summertime Sadness" Lana Del Rey feat. Cedric Gervais
    "Stay The Night" Zedd feat. Hayley Williams
    "Sweet Nothing" Calvin Harris feat. Florence Welch

    Alt-Rock Song of the Year
    "Royals" Lorde
    "Pompeii" Bastille
    "Demons" Imagine Dragons
    "Do I Wanna Know" Arctic Monkeys
    "Safe And Sound" Capital Cities

    Best Lyrics
    "I Love It" Icona Pop
    "Wrecking Ball" Miley Cyrus
    "Say Something" A Great Big World
    "Wake Me Up" Avicii
    "Same Love" Macklemore & Ryan Lewis