Aztecs, Toreros Picked to Win Titles

SDSU and USD are both preseason favorites for conference football championships

San Diego is one of the very few cities in America that can claim it’s the home of two championship-caliber college football programs. Both San Diego State and the University of San Diego were chosen to win titles in 2017.

The Aztecs were picked to win the Mountain West Conference West Division and, for the second straight year, received every single first-place vote. SDSU has won two straight MWC championships and is coming off back-to-back 11-win seasons for the first time in program history. The Aztecs finished ranked 25th in the nation after beating Houston 34-10 in the Las Vegas Bowl.

SDUS opens the season on September 2 at Qualcomm Stadium with a 5:30 kickoff against U.C. Davis.

For the 7th straight year the Toreros are favored to win the Pioneer League championship. USD received 99 points and nine of 11 first-place votes from coaches. Dayton received the other two #1 votes. The Toreros finished ranked 19th in the nation last year after beating Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo for the first FCS Playoff win in program history.

USD starts their 2017 campaign on September 2 when they host Western New Mexico at 2:00.

Contact Us