Aztec Trio Wins Mountain West Awards

The Mountain West football regular season is over and a trio of San Diego State Aztecs swept the conference Player of the Year awards for the second straight year.

It comes as no surprise that senior running back Donnel Pumphrey was named Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year again. The Las Vegas native is the first running back in MW history to take home the award twice.

Pumphrey set a school mark in rushing yards per season this year with 1,908 and is closing in on the NCAA all-time rushing record. He also has a team-high 26 catches for 205 yards. Pumphrey is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award that goes to the top running back in the nation and semifinalist for the Maxwell Award for college player of the year and the Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year award.

Cornerback Damontae Kazee took home Mountain West Defensive player of the year for the second time and became the first cornerback to take home the award twice. Kazee ranks second in the MW in interceptions per game (0.42) and recorded 54 tackles, six pass breakups and scored a touchdown this season.

Rashaad Penny rounds out the Aztecs award winning trio. The return specialist took home Special Teams Player of the Year honors once more. Penny returned 16 kicks for 462 yards for the Aztecs in the regular season including two kick return touchdowns. He’s seventh in the nation in kick return average with 28.8 and leads the MW.

Contact Us