Jimmie Johnson Makes History Again - NBC 7 San Diego

Jimmie Johnson Makes History Again



    10 Hidden Gems and Crown Jewels That Shine on Harbor Island
    Getty Images

    There was little recognition outside the racing world when Jimmie Johnson won his first NASCAR championship.

    Same with his second, and again with his third.

    But four straight championships? That's a different story.

    Johnson, the first driver in NASCAR history to win four consecutive titles, earned mainstream recognition Monday when he was honored as the Male Athlete of the Year by members of The Associated Press.

    Johnson received 42 votes from editors at U.S. newspapers which are members of the AP. Tennis star Roger Federer (30 votes) and Olympic sprinter Usain Bolt (29) were the only other athletes with totals in the double- digits.

    Although Tiger Woods was named Athlete of the Decade, the golfer received only nine votes for Athlete of the Year. He was tied with NBA star Kobe Bryant and slugger Albert Pujols.

    For Johnson, the first race car driver to be named the AP's Athlete of the Year in its 78-year history, the award is the validation he's been waiting for since he began his historic run in 2006.