Bryant Homers in MLB All-Star Game

USD Product Goes Yard But AL Beats NL 4-2

The 2016 Major League All-Star Game started with a bang.

Former University of San Diego slugger and Chicago Cubs' third baseman Kris Bryant smashed a home run in his first at-bat to the delight of the home crowd. 

The former Torero was one of five Cubs voted in as a starter and gave the National League a 1-0 lead in the top of the first inning, but the American League eventually rallied for a 4-2 victory.

It was the 11th time in 14 years that the American League earned World Series home field. 

Bryant struck out in his other at-bat against Rancho Bernardo high school alum Cole Hamels. 

The Rangers All-Star pitcher gave up two hits but pitched a scoreless third inning in his return to his home town.

A pair of Royals helped the AL jump ahead in the second frame. 

Eric Hosmer clubbed a solo shot and catcher Salvador Perez smacked a two-run homer off of NL starter Johnny Cueto to put the AL in front 3-1. 

Hosmer later added a RBI single in the third to make it 4-1 and wound up earning the title of All-Star Game MVP.

San Diego pitcher Drew Pomeranz was thrust into the game rather quickly. The lefty took the mound in the fourth inning but threw 10 of his 12 pitches for strikes and only allowed a single to Boston's Jackie Bradley Junior on his way to a scorelles inning of work.

Padres first baseman Wil Myers went 1-for-3 as the NL designated hitter. He sent a double to the gap in right field in the fifth after striking out and grounding out in his first two plate appearances.

Ex-Padres pitcher Fernando Rodney broke out his signature arrow pose during player introductions and again after recording two outs in the eighth.  

Former San Diego relievers Brad Brach (Orioles) and Craig Kimbrel (Red Sox) did not get into the game.

Santee native and current Nationals All-Star pitcher Stephen Strasburg also did not play.  But the former San Diego State ace was on hand to see MLB commissioner Rob Manfred honor his former college coach.

Manfred announced that the NL hitter with the best batting average at the end of every season will win the Tony Gwynn National League batting title. 

The AL hitter with the best batting average will win the Rod Carew American League batting title.

The AL was the home team for the Midsummer Classic even though the game was played in a NL city. 

That’s because the leagues alternate who plays as the home team and this is the second of four straight years where an NL team served as the host for the annual showcase.

Cincinnati hosted in ‘15, San Diego ‘16, Miami will host in ’17, and Washington D.C in 2018. 

Contact Us