Tempy, Benito Named to San Diego Padres Hall of Fame

The San Diego Padres announced two new franchise Hall of Famers: Gary Templeton and Benito Santiago.

As a rookie in 1987, Benito set a franchise record 34-game hitting streak. It’s still the longest in Major League history for a rookie and the longest ever by a catcher.

He won three Gold Gloves and four Silver Slugger awards in his seven seasons as a Padre.

Templeton played 10 seasons with the Padres and ranks second in at-bats, hits and doubles. Tempy, the team MVP in 1985, ranks fourth in triples.

Induction into the Padres Hall of Fame will take place on Saturday, August 8, before the game with the Phillies.

All fans in attendance will receive a Templeton or Santiago Padres throwback replica jersey.

The San Diego Padres open a three-game series with the Rangers Friday night.

Contact Us