The Return of the Boys of Summer - NBC 7 San Diego

The Return of the Boys of Summer



    The Return of the Boys of Summer
    Jannine Tejeda

    Remember the South Bay kids who won the Little League Series? They're back.

    Three boys from the 2009 Little League World Series team will be on the diamond on Friday at 2:30 p.m. at Amerige Park in Fullerton, Calif., taking on the a team from Nassau, Bahamas, in their opener in the 2010 Pony-13 League Baseball World Series.

    On Wednesday night, Bulla Graft, Andy Rios and Isaiah Armenta and the rest of the Chula Vista North 13-under team beat out Cypress, Calif., and won the opportunity to travel north to match up again the Caribbean Zone champs.

    Last summer, in front of more than 30,000 people in Williamsport, Pa. -- and many more watching around the world -- the Park View Little League team became the first team from San Diego County to win the Little League World Series in more than 40 years. The Blue Bombers from Chula Vista won the coveted title, 6-3, over Chinese Taipei in a game filled with drama.

    The other boys, including Kiko Garcia and Luke Ramirez, are on different teams this year, said Jannine Tejada, who is the player agent for Chula Vista North. Jensen Peterson and Junior Porras, who were on last year's winning team, played in the CVN league but were on a second All-Star team, which also made it to super-regionals but did not advance to the zone-playoff round for the championship.

    The other boys on the team are Ricky Reynoso, Justin Sparby, Seamus Beyerle, Tucker Torano, Casey McPherson, Robby Weissenfels, Brandon Torio, Hudson Pearson, Isaac Vargas and Daniel Schneeman.

    Seven games stand between the boys and another World Series this year.