Undefeated UConn Wins Top Seed in Women's NCAA Tourney - NBC 7 San Diego

Undefeated UConn Wins Top Seed in Women's NCAA Tourney

UConn, Tennessee, Stanford and Nebraska earn No.1 seeds



    Undefeated UConn Wins Top Seed in Women's NCAA Tourney
    UConn's pursuit of perfection has officially begun.

    UConn's pursuit of perfection has officially begun.

    The undefeated University of Connecticut Huskies earned the top overall seed in the women's NCAA tournament Monday, joining the University of Nebraska, Stanford University and the University of Tennessee atop the Big Dance brackets.

    Connecticut is riding a record 72-game win streak into the tournament -- the last team to beat the Huskies was Stanford, two seasons ago.

    Five teams have won the NCAA tournament with unbeaten records; the Huskies have done it three times, including last season.

    Its last championship run to perfection came at the hands of WNBA superstar Diana Taurasi, who many consider the greatest female basketball player of all time. Taurasi now plays for the Phoenix Mercury.

    This year, UConn is led by Player of the Year contenders Maya Moore and Tina Charles, regarded as the two top players in NCAA play.

    The Huskies have been dominated this season both inside and outside their conference, the Big East, defeating opponents by an average of 35 points in the quest to win their seventh national championship.

    Nebraska is one of the only teams in history to earn a No. 1 tournament seed after failing to make the tournament the previous year. The Cornhuskers lost their only game this season in the Big 12 tournament semifinals and are expected to contend for the Final Four title.

    Stanford and UConn faced off earlier this season, and the Huskies dominated second-half play to defeat the Cardinal handily.

    UConn has not played Nebraska or Tennessee this season; despite the long-fought rivalry between Tennessee coach Pat Summitt and the Huskies' Geno Auriemma, Summitt several years ago decided to end the Lady Vols' annual series against UConn.

    This year's tournament also features several teams making their debut in the brackets; Dayton, Princeton, Arkansas-Little Rock, Portland State, and Northern Iowa will be playing for the Final Four for the first time.