Blake Griffin Wins Rookie of the Year - NBC 7 San Diego

Blake Griffin Wins Rookie of the Year



    Blake Griffin Wins Rookie of the Year
    Getty Images
    Feb. 19, 2011: Blake Griffin gets air at this season's All-Star break slam dunk contest.

    Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers has officially won NBA Rookie of the Year.

    "To miss my entire first year and then be able to be up here today is definitely satisfying," Griffin said. "My teammates, every single one, did such an amazing job helping me in a year that was filled with ups and downs, when I was learning a lot about the game."

    The announcement made Wednesday afternoon should come as no surprise. He was the obvious lock, and is the first player to win unanimously since David Robinson in 1989-90, according to the NBA. He accepted the award Wednesday at the Clippers' training complex, the Associated Press reported.

    Washington's John Wall finished second and Sacramento's DeMarcus Cousins finished third.

    Griffin led the Clippers with 22.5 points per game (12th in NBA), 12.1 rebounds per game (fourth in NBA) and 63 double-doubles (third in NBA).

    "He had an absolutely incredible season, and he quickly became a leader for this team. After missing all of last season, it is obvious how much work he put in throughout the course of the year," said Clippers Head Coach Vinny Del Negro.

    Griffin fans looking to celebrate the award, may want to check out this NBA montage of the forward's 214 regular season dunks, or this slightly less exciting interview: