'Dancing With the Stars': Nyle DiMarco and Peta Murgatroyd Crowned Season 22 Winners

MMA fighter Paige VanZant and Mark Ballas took second place

We have a winner.

After one of the closest final rounds ever, season 22 of "Dancing with the Stars" has named its champion, and that mirrorball trophy could not have gone to a more deserving couple.

Congratulations to Nyle DiMarco and Peta Murgatroys.

The deaf "America's Next Top Model" winner spent all season pulling off emotional performances, changing ideas of dance all over the world, and now he's got the trophy and the title to show for it.

MMA fighter Paige VanZant and Mark Ballas took second place, while ABC News chief meteorologist Ginger Zee and Val Chmerkovskiy took third place.

Dancing With the Stars Finale: Who Will Win Season 22?

Before the results could be determined, the final three contestants had to perform for the judges one last time with a routine fusing together multiple dance styles that they only had 24 hours to put together.

Perfect scores went to DiMarco and Murgatroys for their cha cha/tango and VanZant and Ballas for their jive/salsa, while Zee and Chmerkovskiy scored a 27 with their foxtrot/Argentine Tango.

Those scores combined with their scores from the past two weeks and America's votes to decide the winner.

Of course, Tuesday wasn't all about competition. The first hour and a half of the show featured performances new and old from this season's dancers and a few special guests, including Fifth Harmony, Pitbull, Fleur East, Dan & Shay, and Aloe Blacc.

Most of this season's contestants hit the dance floor one last time for an encore of one of their best performance, including Wanyá Morris and Lindsay Arnold's Charleston, Antonio Brown and Sharna Burgess' Aladdin routine, Zee and Chmerkovskiy's Argentine Tango, and more.

"Dancing with the Stars" will return in the fall for season 23.

Meet Dancing With the Stars' Season 22 Cast

Copyright E! Online
Contact Us