San Diego

Slightly Stoopid, Vince Staples, Miguel Headline New Wonderfront Festival

Brand ambassadors Tony Hawk, Trevor Hoffman on hand to announce lineup

In March, we left you wondering which artists would play Wonderfront, the new San Diego music festival that boasts local sports luminaries Tony Hawk, Trevor Hoffman and Rob Machado as brand ambassadors.

Well, the mystery is (mostly) over, because Hawk and Hoffman were on hand Monday in the Gaslamp to announce details about the new music festival. Spread across more than seven stages along the downtown waterfront, the Wonderfront Music & Arts Festival on Nov. 22-24 will feature San Diego stars Slightly Stoopid as well as indie/electronic pop acts MGMT, Phantogram, Japanese Breakfast, Walk the Moon and X Ambassadors; R&B/hip-hop icons Miguel, Vince Staples, Tyga and Busta Rhymes; Latinx artists Los Tucanes de Tijuana, Los Angeles Azules, Ximena Sariñana and Victoria La Mala; reggaeton specialists Don Omar and Nicky Jam -- and many others.

No surprise that reggaeton will feature prominently, but more electronic vibes will be set by Big Gigantic, Thievery Corporation and DJ Z-Trip -- plus, EDM stars Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike, 3LAU, Chrome Sparks and Gioli & Assia.

SoCal punk rockers Pennywise, X, Suicidal Tendencies, the Vandals; pop rock crowd pleasers Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals and Michael Franti & Spearhead; and locals Earthless, Goldfish, Schizophonics, the Routine and Tribal Seeds should get the hometown crowd amped as well.

By the way, Pennywise, Suicidal Tendencies, X, Vandals and DJ Z-Trip are scheduled to play Hawk’s Huckjam Stage, performing alongside some of the best professional skateboarders in the world (including Hawk himself), who will be tricking out the HuckJam Ramp.

But that's just Phase 1 of the lineup announcements, representing 80+ acts that will descend on the bay in November. How many more will they add in Phase 2?

“Our goal with this lineup was to have it stacked from start to finish each day with great artists," festival co-founder Paul Thornton said in a press release. "So, it’s hard to really call any certain bands our headliners as so many bands on this festival are headliners in their own right. We’ve had a tough time fitting so many great bands across so many genres into the number of stage slots available. We also wanted a great mix of artists across the time slots so that not all the bigger names were just playing at the same later times. We really appreciate the artists who have worked with us to make that possible.”

With the help of fellow co-founder and Pechanga Arena General Manager Ernie Hahn, Thornton brought Hawk, Hoffman and Machado onto the festival team early as investors and brand ambassadors, giving the Wonderfront lineup local legitimacy with Coachella caliber artists and a diverse array of genre-based appeal.

Various bayfront venues involved include Broadway Pier, Bayfront Park, Embarcadero Marina Park North and South, Ruocco Park, and Seaport Village -- complete with ferries to take attendees between the two ends of the event. According to organizers, capacity for the festival will be 30,000, with single-day and weekend passes, VIP access, yacht parties, hotel packages, meet-and-greets, and other ticketing options available in early May. Three-day passes will be $225.

Pre-sale tickets for discounted general admission three-day passes are now available, so get in on the early-bird action and use the code "8G33Y2" before tickets go on sale to the public on June 14. Go here to purchase. 

While we all wait for Phase 2, check out the full Phase 1 lineup below.

  • 3LAU
  • Alice Merton
  • Allie X
  • Aminé
  • Andy Frasco & The U.N.
  • Ari Lennox
  • Bad Suns
  • Banda Los Sebastianes
  • Bas
  • Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals
  • Big Gigantic
  • Big Wild
  • Bob Moses
  • BoomBox
  • Broods
  • Bryce Vine
  • Busta Rhymes
  • Chrome Sparks
  • CNCO
  • Common Kings
  • Diamante Eléctrico
  • Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike
  • DJ Z-Trip
  • Donna Missal
  • Don Omar
  • EarthGang
  • Earthless
  • English Beat
  • Exmag
  • Fakear
  • Flatbush Zombies
  • Ghost Light
  • Gioli & Assia
  • Goldfish
  • Grace VanderWaal
  • Grandson
  • Haddon Cord
  • Henry + The Invisibles
  • Hippo Campus
  • Japanese Breakfast
  • Jonas Blue
  • Jordan Hollywood
  • Lil Baby
  • Lil Dicky 
  • Los Angeles Azules
  • Los Tucanes de Tijuana
  • Manchester Orchestra
  • Marie Monti
  • MGMT
  • Michael Franti & Spearhead
  • Miguel
  • Moon Taxi
  • Nicky Jam
  • Parquet Courts
  • Pennywise
  • Pepper
  • Phantogram
  • Preservation Hall Jazz Band
  • Reykon 
  • Rob Machado & Friends
  • Schizophonics
  • SFM
  • Slightly Stoopid
  • SoDown
  • STS9
  • Suicidal Tendencies
  • SunSquabi
  • The Knocks
  • The Routine
  • Thievery Corporation
  • Tribal Seeds
  • Tyga
  • Vandals
  • Victoria La Mala
  • Vince Staples
  • Walk the Moon
  • Wild Prxfits
  • X
  • X Ambassadors
  • Ximena Sariñana
  • Zion & Lennox

Rutger Ansley Rosenborg is an editor and digital marketer at NBC's SoundDiego. Find out more here.

Contact Us