Steve Fisher Wins Major Coaching Award

Aztecs head coach named a "Legend Of Coaching"

A lot has been made of the amazing job Steve Fisher has done turning San Diego State in to a nationally-ranked basketball program and annual NCAA Tournament participant. Fisher has long been one of the most respected coaches in the nation. Now he's being recognized as one of the best.

Fisher won the 2015 Legends of Coaching award on Friday night. Winners are selected based on character, success on the court, graduation rates of student-athletes and coaching philosophy. This award does not go to just anybody.

The first recipient was North Carolina’s Dean Smith in 1999. In 16 seasons at SDSU, Fisher has guided the Aztecs to eight NCAA tournament appearances, 11 postseason berths overall, nine Mountain West championships and 11 seasons of at least 20 wins, including the last 10 years running.

The full list of honorees reads like a, "Who's Who" of college basketball coaches:

Legends of Coaching Award Winners

2015       Steve Fisher, San Diego State
2014       Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
2013       Bill Self, Kansas
2012       Geno Auriemma, Connecticut
2011       Tom Izzo, Michigan State
2010       Billy Donovan, Florida
2009       Rick Barnes, Texas
2008       Pat Summitt, Tennessee
2007       Gene Keady, Purdue
2006       Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
2005       Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
2004       Mike Montgomery, Stanford
2003       Roy Williams, Kansas
2002       Denny Crum, Louisville
2001       Lute Olson, Arizona
2000       Mike Krzyzewski, Duke
1999       Dean Smith, North Carolina

Congratulations to Coach Fisher and the Aztecs.

Contact Us