Marshall Faulk Elected to CFB Hall of Fame

Former Aztecs star joining star-studded Class of 2017

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame class was announced on Monday and another Aztec has been elected.

Running back Marshall Faulk headlines the class of 10 players and three coaches that will be enshrined this year. Faulk was a three-time All-American and should have won at least one Heisman Trophy (darn you Gino Torretta!) in his three years at San Diego State. He averaged 1,530 yards a season and was the 2nd overall pick in the 1994 NFL Draft by the Colts.

Faulk still owns the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision record for points per game (12.1) and has become a major fundraiser for SDSU. Marshall is already a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. With him in this year’s college class are a few guys who will someday join him in Canton, as well.

Former Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning and New Mexico linebacker Brian Urlacher are also CFB Hall of Famers. Interestingly Archie Manning … Peyton’s dad … is also a member of the Hall and the National Football Foundation chairman so he got to make the official announcement.

Of the three coaches on the list the most recognizable name is Steve Spurrier. The former Duke, Florida and South Carolina head coach is the fourth person to be elected as both a player and a head coach.

The entire class looks like this:


San Diego State RB Marshall Faulk
New Mexico LB Brian Urlacher
Tennessee QB Peyton Manning
USC QB Matt Leinart
Notre Dame LB Bob Crable
Texas OL Bob McKay
Texas A&M LB Dat Nguyen
Georgia Southern RB Adrian Peterson
Boston College DL Mike Ruth
Michigan State WR Kirk Gibson


Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina)
Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas)
Larry Kehres (Mount Union)

In case you are wondering yes, that Kirk Gibson is the same Kirk Gibson who was named the 1988 National League MVP for the Los Angeles Dodgers. Before making a name for himself hitting dramatic World Series home runs Gibson was the Spartans’ all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns.

The induction ceremony will be held in December at the annual National Football Foundation Awards Dinner.

Contact Us