Fans To Determine Next Chargers Hall of Famer - NBC 7 San Diego

Fans To Determine Next Chargers Hall of Famer

3 Nominees Available In Online Vote



    Fans To Determine Next Chargers Hall of Famer
    Who will Chargers fans point to with their Hall of Fame votes?

    Every year the Chargers add one of their former players to their Hall of Fame. In 2012, they're doing things a little different.

    The 36th inductee will be determined by San Diego football fans through an online vote. Bolts nation has a tough decision on its hands.

    The three nominees are RB Natrone Means, WR Anthony Miller and P Darren Bennett.

    Means was the workhorse on San Diego's 1994 Super Bowl team, rushing for a then-team record 1,350 yards and 12 touchdowns. In the Super Bowl against San Francisco, Means became the youngest player ever to score a touchdown in the Super Bowl.

    Miller played six seasons for the Chargers, going to four Pro Bowls. In 1989 he caught 75 passes for 1,252 yards and 11 touchdowns, one of the best seasons by a wideout in Chargers history.

    Bennett was named the punter for the NFL's All-Decade team of the 1990's. The former Australian Rules Football star (who has his jersey in that sports' Hall of Fame) literally changed the way punters kick in the NFL when he introduced the backspin kick that pinned many an opponent inside their own 10 yard line.

    Voting is open now, and runs through September 17. To vote, visit the Chargers' official website.

    The induction ceremony will take place at halftime of the Ravens vs. Chargers game at Qualcomm Stadium on November 25.

    Follow NBC7 for the latest news, weather, and events:iPad App | iPhone App | Android App | Facebook| Twitter | Google+ | Instagram | RSS | Text Alerts | Email Alerts