Chula Vista Campaigns Underway - NBC 7 San Diego

Chula Vista Campaigns Underway



    Chula Vista Campaigns Underway
    NBC 7 San Diego

    Four seats are open for nomination during the Chula Vista election cycle this year - with 16 candidates having already declared their intention to run for either one of two City Council seats, or the office of the Mayor or the elected City Attorney's seat.

    City Councilman Rudy Ramirez is termed out leaving an open seat on the City Council for the June 3 election. Those who have already declared they are running for that seat, include: local business owner Robert Corcilius; former Chargers player Burt Grossman; Sweetwater schools trustee John McCann; former Chula Vista Mayor Steve Padilla; Chula Vista Cultural Arts Commissioner Jason Paguio; Heideh Rivera;  and real estate professional Scott Vinson Sr.

    Councilwoman Patricia Aguilar is up for re-election this year. She has pulled papers to run for re-election to her seat. Those who have already pulled papers to run against her include: businessman Hector Gastelum; Otay Water District trustee David Gonzalez, Jr.; Dan Smith and Michael Spethman.

    First elected in 2006, Chula Vista Mayor Cheryl Cox is termed out this year, leaving what will likely be a hotly contested race for mayor. City Councilwomen Mary Salas and Pamela Bensoussan both filed an intention to run for the seat, but Bensoussan has not yet pulled papers. Both councilwomen, elected in 2012, would be running from a safe council seat. Former Councilman Jerry Rindone, who more recently served as a San Diego County Board of Education trustee, is also running for mayor.

    Several sources say former Assemblywoman Shirley Horton is still considering whether or not she will run for the mayor's seat. Horton was mayor of Chula Vista from 1994 through 2000. She has repeatedly said she does not plan to run.

    City Attorney Glen Googins is currently running unopposed for the elected city attorney position.

    Candidates have until Friday, March 7 to pull papers. The election will be held June 3.