4 Candidates in Running for Foster’s School Board Seat

Marne Foster stepped down after pleading guilty to a misdemeanor count of receiving gifts in excess of the legal limit

VCG via Getty Images

The San Diego Unified School Board has narrowed down its list of candidates to fill the trustee seat left vacant by former Trustee Marne Foster, who resigned earlier this month.

Four people are still in the running for the Subdistrict E seat after the board held a special meeting Wednesday to hear from its 13 candidates.

Those chosen as finalists are Brenda Campbell, LaShae Collins, Erica Dibello-Hitta and Sharon Whitehurst-Payne. Click each of their names to see their applications and qualifications.

The school board decided to appoint someone to fill the Subdistrict E position instead of holding a special election, which would be costly with a general election coming up.

The move became necessary when a judge ordered Foster to step down from her position. She pleaded guilty to receiving gifts in excess of the legal limit.

Tuesday was the deadline for those who wanted to apply to represent Subdistrict E in southeast San Diego. The SDUSD received 16 applications, but three were rejected because the applicants did not live in the subdistrict, according to SDUSD Communications Director Linda Zintz.

Each of the remaining four finalists for the position will get another chance to speak at a Feb. 23 board meeting, according to Zintz. During that meeting, one of the finalists will be chosen as the next SDUSD trustee.

However, the appointed person will only hold the office until December, when an elected trustee may be voted in during the general election.

Contact Us