San Diego Chargers Drop 22 Players

The cuts were announced Saturday by the team

As part of final-cut day, the San Diego Chargers released 22 players on Saturday in an effort to reach the NFL’s 53-man roster limit.

In the routine step toward the start football season, the team announced the following players had been cut from the Bolts:

  • (LB) Victor Aiyewa
  • (DT) Chas Alecxih
  • (WR) Torrence Allen
  • (WR) Vincent Brown*
  • (CB) Crezdon Butler
  • (S) Alden Darby
  • (CB) Greg Ducre
  • (TE) Mike Flacco
  • (T) Mike Harris
  • (WR) Javontee Herndon
  • (LB) Thomas Keiser
  • (DE) Joe Kruger
  • (LB) Cordarro Law
  • (S) Adrian Phillips
  • (WR) Tevin Reese
  • (T) Jeremiah Sirles
  • (QB) Brad Sorensen
  • (LB) Colton Underwood
  • (G) Craig Watts
  • (G-T) Kenny Wiggins
  • (C-G) Khalil Wilkes
  • (DE) Doug Worthington

The Chargers said that if Brown clears waivers, he will be placed on the team’s Reserve-Injured list with a calf injury. Earlier this week, the team trimmed their roster by releasing another 11 players.

A special, re-energizing tradition carried on Aug. 27, 2014 as the Marines hosted the San Diego Chargers at MCAS Miramar for a preseason practice. NBC 7’s Military Reporter Bridget Naso reports.

The NFL season officially kicks off Thursday. The Chargers play their first game of the season on Sept. 8 against the Cardinals.

Contact Us