PICS: Unwritten Law at the Observatory North Park

Poway punk heroes Unwritten Law were greeted by a sold-out crowd at the Observatory North Park on Saturday, April 21, in celebration of the 20th anniversary of their 1998 self-titled masterpiece album.

12 photos
Tim Fears
The band, which got its start in Poway, formed in 1990.
Tim Fears
The band's current lineup consists of Scott Russo (vocals), Wade Youman (drums), Jonny Grill (bass) and Chris Lewis (guitar).
Tim Fears
The band released its first cassette demo in 1992, followed by the 7-inch vinyl single "Blurr" a year later. (Lewis pictured)
Tim Fears
In 1994, Unwritten Law recorded their first album, "Blue Room," which was released by local label Red Eye Records. (Russo pictured)
Tim Fears
"Blue Room" caught the eye of Epic Records, which signed them to a recording contract. Their second album, "Oz Factor," was released in '96. (Grill pictured)
Tim Fears
1998 saw the release of their self-titled album (often referred to as "The Black Album" by fans), which spawned the songs "Lonesome," "Cailin," and "Teenage Suicide."
Coincidentally, the band's current tour features them playing "The Black Album" in its entirety as part of a 20-year anniversary celebration.
Tim Fears
Their 2002 follow-up "Elva" saw the band leaning more toward an alt-rock sound rather than their original punk style, and garnered the band their only No. 1 hit to-date (no small feat): "Seein' Red."
Tim Fears
Strange fact: In 2003, the band was invited by VH1 to film an episode of the live acoustic series "Music in High Places." The invitation was an accident though -- VH1 originally intended to contact Jimmy Eat World's management but reached out to Unwritten Law's by mistake. (Youman pictured)
Tim Fears
The band planned to release the sessions for an album but their label declined to release it. After getting out of their contract and signing with Lava Records, they released "Music in High Places" as both an album and DVD titled "Live in Yellowstone."
Tim Fears
"Here's to the Mourning" was released in 2005. The album's lead single "Save Me (Wake Up Call)" was co-written by Linda Perry and singer/songwriter Aimee Allen (who started a side project with Russo called Scott & Aimee).
Tim Fears
Unwritten Law released "Swan" in 2011 and signed on for that year's Warped Tour. On April 1, 2016, the band released a new compilation titled "Acoustic." Good news: rumors suggest a new studio album is imminent! Always great to see these guys in action -- come back soon, lads!
Contact Us