PICS: Modest Mouse at SDSU’s Open Air Theatre

And we'll all float on, OK: Indie-rock dignitaries Modest Mouse delivered an out-of-body experience for fans at SDSU's Open Air Theatre May 30.

10 photos
Fatima Kelley
The Portland-based band, fronted by mastermind guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Isaac Brock, is one of indie-rock’s premier groups.
Fatima Kelley
Aside from Brock, Modest Mouse currently consists Jeremiah Green (drums), Tom Peloso (bass), Jim Fairchild (guitar, pictured), Russell Higbee (bass/guitar), Lisa Molinaro (violin), Davey Brozowski (percussion) and Ben Massarella (percussion).
Fatima Kelley
Brock started the band in 1992 in Issaquah, Washington (a suburb of Seattle) but currently calls Portland, Oregon home. Funnily enough, he has a rather contentious relationship with the city, describing it in the past as “kind of a crappy weird” and “a collection of human turds.”
Fatima Kelley
The band released their debut album “This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About” in 1996.
Fatima Kelley
They released their first breakthrough record “The Lonesome Crowded West” in 1997. It is widely considered one of the defining indie-rock albums of mid-‘90s indie rock.
Fatima Kelley
After signing to Epic Records, Modest Mouse released “The Moon & Antarctica” in 2000. It was received a 9.8 out of 10 score on Pitchfork.
Fatima Kelley
Their 2004 album, “Good News for People Who Love Bad News,” spawned the massive hit singles “Float On” and “Ocean Breathes Salty.” The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album, and “Float On” for Best Rock Song.
Fatima Kelley
In 2007, the band released “We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank,” and followed that after eight years with 2015’s “Strangers to Ourselves.” It contained the hit single “Lampshades on Fire.”
Fatima Kelley
Fun fact: The Smiths’ Johnny Marr played guitar in the band from 2006-2009.
Fatima Kelley
The band’s May 30 21-song set list included the following songs: “The World at Large,” “The Tortoise and the Tourist,” “Paper Thin Walls,” “Dashboard,” “Tiny Cities Made of Ashes,” “3rd Planet,” “Trailer Trash,” “King Rat,” “Satin in a Coffin,” “Pups to Dust,” “Lampshades on Fire,” “Night on the Sun,” “The Best Room,” “Doin’ the Cockroach,” “Ocean Breathes Salty,” “Strangers to Ourselves,” “Dramamine,” “Float On,” “Bury Me With It,” “Parting of the Sensory,” and “This Devil’s Workday.”
Contact Us