And the SD Music Award Nominees Are ... - NBC 7 San Diego

Saturdays after SNL
on NBC 7 San Diego
music. community. culture.

And the SD Music Award Nominees Are ...



    Officials announced the 21st San Diego Music Awards nominees in Jujne-- and there were some big names among the honorees, including Jason Mraz, Slightly Stoopid, Switchfoot, Augustana, Unwritten Law and the Penetrators. 

    The festivities take place on tonight at Humphreys Concerts by the Bay; tickets are still available Fans votedon 23 of the 27 categories until July 25 at 5 p.m. The other categories -- Best New Artist, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year -- were reserved for the member of  the San Diego Music Academy

    In addition to the finding out who the winners are tonight, music fans can look forward to performances by the Silent Comedy (check out our interview with Joshua Zimmerman), Wavves, Little Hurricane, Cuckoo Chaos, Gilbert Castellanos, Dynamite Walls (check out our interview with Tom Pritchard), Candye Kane & Sue Palmer along with Life Time Achievement winners The Penetrators.

    You might be asking, Who are the Penetrators?  Well this year they will be the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement award; the band is best known as one of the original punk bands in San Diego. Founded by frontman Gary Heffern, bassist Chris Sullivan, guitarist Scott Harrington and drummer Dan McLain, the band got their first big gig opening for the Ramones at SDSU. Ultimately they only released an EP, Walk the Beat, and one LP, A Sweet Kiss From Mommy.  Despite having a limited catalogue, the Penetrators are considered one of the most influential bands in San Diego, especially considering that all of the band members stayed involved in the local music scene even after the band disbanded. 

    "It's our 21st year and I'm looking forward to being back at Humphreys," said Kevin Hellman, who is the president of the San Diego Music Foundation and also the publisher of San Diego CityBeat. "I'm looking forward to seeing our Lifetime nominees, the Penetrators, who are a band I kind of grew up with, a band that inspired me to get into this crazy business."

    Some of the categories that will elicit the most interest are (click here for a full list of nominees):

    Artist of the Year

    • Augustana 
    • Crocodiles 
    • Jason Mraz
    • Slightly Stoopid
    • Switchfoot 
    • The Silent Comedy 
    • Transfer 
    • Wavves 

    Album of the Year

    • Augustana: Augustana 
    • Crocodiles: Sleep Forever 
    • Dynamite Walls: Chemicals
    • Little Hurricane: Homewrecker
    • Switchfoot: Eastern Hymns for Western Shores
    • The Donkeys: Born With Stripes
    • Unwritten Law: Swan 
    • Vokab Kompany: Quit Sleep

    Song of the Year

    • Augustana: "Steal Your Heart"
    • Crocodiles: "Mirrors"
    • Dynamite Walls: "Keep Spinning Around"
    • Little Hurricane: "Haunted Heart"
    • Switchfoot: "The Sound"
    • The Soft Pack: "Answer to Yourself"
    • Transfer: "Losing Composure"
    • Unwritten Law: "Starships and Apocalypse"

     Best New Artist

    • Chairs Missing 
    • Cry for Us Black Swans 
    • Low Volts 
    • Sister Speak
    • Stevie and the Hi-Stax 
    • The Groove Kitties 
    • The Tilt 
    • TV Girl

    Best Americana

    • Bill Cardinal and the Canyon Band
    • Blackout Party
    • Brawley
    • Jesse LaMonaca and the Dime Novels 
    • John Meeks
    • Sara Petite
    • The Farmers    
    • The Tree Ring

    Best Hip-Hop 

    • Anti Citizens
    • Black Mikey
    • Black Resume
    • Blame One
    • Deep Rooted
    • El Gun Legro
    • Grammatical B
    • Vokab Kompany

    Best Pop

    • 321 Stereo
    • AJ Croce
    • Dynamite Walls
    • Kevin Martin
    • Lights On
    • Ryan Blue and Centerlight Pop
    • The Silent Comedy
    • Wendy Bailey

    Best Alternative

    • Cuckoo Chaos
    • Endoxi
    • Grand Tarantula
    • Gun Runner
    • Little Hurricane
    • Republic of Letters
    • Smile Now, Cry Later
    • The Old In Out

    Best Rock

    • A Scribe Amidst the Lions
    • Black Hondo
    • The Burning of Rome
    • The Donkeys
    • The Howls
    • The Loons
    • The Old In Out
    • Transfer

    Best Electronic

    • Drew Andrews
    • Hyena
    • Illuminauts
    • Inspired Flight
    • Jamuel Saxon
    • Marcelo Radulovich
    • Porcelain Fangs
    • White Apple Tree

    Best Hip-Hop Album

    • Blame One: Endurance 
    • Genghis Khan: Night Gallery
    • Grammatical B and Microphone Mike: The Birthinating 
    • Mr. Brady: Labor of Love
    • Parker and the Numberman: Early 
    • Strong Arm Steady: Arms & Hammers
    • Treali Duce: A Man's Heart 
    • Vokab Kompany: Quit Sleep