Winter Olympics Sochi 2014

Winter Olympics Sochi 2014

Follow All The Winter Olympics Action Feb. 6-24 on NBC

Russians Accuse Goalie Jonathan Quick of Cheating in U.S. Hockey Win

Some Russian players say Quick intentionally moved the net to disqualify a goal scored in the 3rd period of Saturday's game

By Emily Feldman
|  Sunday, Feb 16, 2014  |  Updated 2:17 PM PDT
View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Figure Skating Photos: The Kiss-and-Cry Zone

AP

American goaltender Jonathan Quick, left, greets Russia goaltender Sergei Bobrovski after the US beat Russia in a shootout during overtime of a men's ice hockey game at the 2014 Winter Olympics, Saturday, Feb. 15, 2014, in Sochi, Russia. Other Russians accused Quick of moving his net.

advertisement

Some Russian hockey players are accusing American goalie Jonathan Quick of dishonesty in Saturday night's blockbuster game that gave the U.S. a 3-2 victory over one of its top rivals on the ice.

The event in question happened during the 3rd period of the game, when Russia's Fedor Tyutin cracked the puck past Quick. The U.S. goalie pointed out to officials that the goal net was off its moorings and after reviewing video footage, the officials agreed and didn't count the point.

If the goal counted, the game would not have gone in to overtime and the U.S. would not have won in a shootout.

Photos and Videos
More Photos and Videos

While video and photos do show that the net was slightly off — which, according to Olympic rules would disqualify any goal scored on it until it is fixed — some Russian players are now accusing Quick of intentionally knocking it out of place. (See a gif of Quick knocking into the goal cage here.)

“Nobody touched the net,” Alex Ovechkin told the Chicago Sun-Times. “The goalie touched the net and pulled it out. But the referee didn’t give him two minutes.”

Slava Voynov, who plays with Quick in the NHL, went a step further by suggesting this sort of move is a dark habit of Quick's.

Related Stories

Voynov on Quick dislodging the net before the Tyutin disallowed goal: "I play with him. I know that's his style." #USAvRUS
— Dmitry Chesnokov (@dchesnokov) February 15, 2014

The accusations continued.

Questioner in Russian says he talked to players who said Quick is known for "trick" of lifting net off moorings and says "we" lost because
— Helene Elliott (@helenenothelen) February 15, 2014

Russia's coach, meanwhile, didn't appear to be dwelling on what might have been.

Of that. Russian coach far more diplomatic. Says he thought officials made mistake but he's looking forward now
— Helene Elliott (@helenenothelen) February 15, 2014

What's not disputed is that Quick stopped 29 of 31 shots in regulation/OT and five of eight shootout attempts.

Get the latest Olympics 2014 Newsletter
View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Leave Comments

Olympic News

Follow Us
Sign up to receive news and updates that matter to you.
Send Us Your Story Tips
Check Out